Feds honor 9 Ga. schools as blue ribbon schools - DC News FOX 5 DC WTTG

Feds honor 9 Ga. schools as blue ribbon schools

ATLANTA (AP) - The U.S. Department of Education is recognizing eight Georgia public schools and one private school as 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

State education officials announced the awards Tuesday. Nationally, 264 public and 50 private schools were recognized for their overall academic excellence or for making progress in closing the achievement gap.

Three public schools within Cobb County made the list: Fair Oaks Elementary and Tritt Elementary with Cobb County Schools and Marietta Center for Advanced Academics with Marietta City Schools.

The other schools are Daves Creek Elementary in Forsyth County, Mountain Park Elementary in Fulton County, Middle Ridge Elementary in Newton County, Sugar Hill Elementary in Hall County and Webster County High in Webster County.

St. Catherine of Siena Catholic School, a private school, in Kennesaw was also honored.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow

WTTG FOX 5 & myfoxdc
5151 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20016
Main Number: (202) 244-5151
Newsroom: (202) 895-3000

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices