Movie Critic Matt Atchity: We Review Television Too! - DC News FOX 5 DC WTTG

Movie Critic Matt Atchity: We Review Television Too!

Posted: Updated:

Rotten Tomatoes is known for posting reviews for movies in theaters and on DVD. But starting Tuesday, the website began posting reviews for TV shows. Matt Atchity made a rare Tuesday appearance to talk about Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone.

"We're going to have tomatometers for scripted primetime television..." Unlike the movies, shows will not have just one set of reviews.

"We are doing reviews at the season level, so this is Breaking Bad season 5, this is Game of Thrones season 3."

Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone is debuting, not coincidentally, the week before the Emmys. Matt talked about how, just like with movies, there's sometimes a gap between what TV critics think and what viewers like. For instance, "Louie" is the best reviewed comedy...but doesn't have a big audience. Modern Family on the other hand is a hit show for ABC and an Emmy darling...it's also the lowest rated out of the nominees.

"Critics are watching everything whether they want to or not...so if you're not into Modern Family...the audience thats enjoying that is not the one that's like "oh, I'm on the fence about this, I don't like this kind of show but I'm going to watch it anyway."

Matt also noticed a big difference in how movies and TV get reviewed.

"With movies, the bigger the movie, the more critics weigh in on it...where as with television it's kinda the opposite. The bigger the audience, the less likely are that critics are going to consistently review it."

 

Atchity is the editor in chief for the pop-culture website "Rotten Tomatoes." He also hosts a new show on Sirius XM called "Rotten Tomatoes Radio."

The weekly one hour call in show airs Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm.

‘Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone' is up now on the Rotten Tomatoes website.

  • The Latest From Good Day LAMore>>

  • Rachel Zalis: Five Fall Fashion Trends

    Rachel Zalis: Five Fall Fashion Trends

    Monday, September 1 2014 3:06 PM EDT2014-09-01 19:06:26 GMT

    [VIEW PHOTO GALLERY] It's Labor Day, which marks the time you can officially start thinking about your Fall wardrobe. Style Expert Rachel Zalis stopped by to share five of the hottest trends to be on the lookout for this season.

    It's Labor Day, which marks the time you can officially start thinking about your Fall wardrobe. Style Expert Rachel Zalis stopped by to share five of the hottest trends to be on the lookout for this season.

  • Sutter Zachman: Just Sort Of Following My Idols

    Sutter Zachman: Just Sort Of Following My Idols

    Monday, September 1 2014 1:29 PM EDT2014-09-01 17:29:56 GMT

    Sutter Zachman had his first record deal when he was barely out of his teens. You may have seen the Orange County native was on stage at the Largo and other hot clubs around LA. He then left town...after what he called a few "bouts" with the music business, but now he is back with a new EP called ‘Repeat Offender.'

    Sutter Zachman had his first record deal when he was barely out of his teens. You may have seen the Orange County native was on stage at the Largo and other hot clubs around LA. He then left town...after what he called a few "bouts" with the music business, but now he is back with a new EP called ‘Repeat Offender.'

  • Labor Day BBQ From New Dining Spot: Holy Cow BBQ

    Labor Day BBQ From New Dining Spot: Holy Cow BBQ

    Monday, September 1 2014 12:34 PM EDT2014-09-01 16:34:29 GMT
    [VIEW PHOTO GALLERY] For our Labor Day BBQ festivities we enlisted the help of the new Holy Cow restaurant in Brentwood for a preview of what's to come when they open their doors on September 9th.
    [VIEW PHOTO GALLERY] For our Labor Day BBQ festivities we enlisted the help of the new Holy Cow restaurant in Brentwood for a preview of what's to come when they open their doors on September 9th.
  • Experts and Other GuestsExperts and Other GuestsMore>>

  • Sutter Zachman: Just Sort Of Following My Idols

    Sutter Zachman: Just Sort Of Following My Idols

    Monday, September 1 2014 1:29 PM EDT2014-09-01 17:29:56 GMT

    Sutter Zachman had his first record deal when he was barely out of his teens. You may have seen the Orange County native was on stage at the Largo and other hot clubs around LA. He then left town...after what he called a few "bouts" with the music business, but now he is back with a new EP called ‘Repeat Offender.'

    Sutter Zachman had his first record deal when he was barely out of his teens. You may have seen the Orange County native was on stage at the Largo and other hot clubs around LA. He then left town...after what he called a few "bouts" with the music business, but now he is back with a new EP called ‘Repeat Offender.'

  • Matt Iseman & Ben Melick: This Course Is An Entirely Different Beast

    Matt Iseman & Ben Melick: This Course Is An Entirely Different Beast

    Monday, September 1 2014 12:27 PM EDT2014-09-01 16:27:55 GMT

    Matt Iseman is the host and Ben Melick is one of the contestants on ‘America Ninja Warrior.'

    Matt Iseman is the host and Ben Melick is one of the contestants on ‘America Ninja Warrior.'

  • Movie Critic Matt Atchity: Labor Day Weekend Movies

    Movie Critic Matt Atchity: Labor Day Weekend Movies

    Friday, August 29 2014 11:27 AM EDT2014-08-29 15:27:52 GMT

    Matt Atchity is the editor in chief for the pop-culture website "Rotten Tomatoes." He also hosts a new show on Sirius XM called "Rotten Tomatoes Radio." The weekly one hour call in show airs Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm.

    Matt Atchity is the editor in chief for the pop-culture website "Rotten Tomatoes." He also hosts a new show on Sirius XM called "Rotten Tomatoes Radio." The weekly one hour call in show airs Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm.


Powered by WorldNow
Untitled

WTTG FOX 5 & myfoxdc
5151 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20016
Main Number: (202) 244-5151
Newsroom: (202) 895-3000
fox5tips@wttg.com

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices